Our independent board

​​​​​We are governed by an independent board.

The role of the board is to ensure the proper, efficient and effective performance of the Corporation’s functions.

Our board consists of a chair and four other members. The Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources and the Minister for Finance appoint the board of the Corporation.

Current board


Mr David Foster is an experienced Chair and Non-Executive Director with roles in a diverse range of industries, including financial services, retail, local government, education and professional services. Prior to his Board roles, he had an extensive banking career spanning over 25 years. This includes five years as Chief Executive Officer of Suncorp Bank and over 14 years with Westpac, with a number of senior roles in New South Wales and Queensland. He holds current directorships with the Motorcycle Holdings Limited, Thorn Group Limited, Genworth Mortgage Insurance Limited, G8 Education Limited and Local Government Enterprises of Queensland.


Ms Lucia Cade has considerable experience in engineering and commercial leadership, with a focus on water infrastructure, utilities and professional services. She has been Chair of South East Water, a government-owned water utility, since October 2015, and holds other non-executive appointments in engineering, infrastructure and technology. Lucia has significant executive experience in water engineering, infrastructure and professional services, including appointments with Melbourne Water, City West Water, and AECOM. Since 2004 she has managed a portfolio of advisory and consulting clients, and recently was a member of the technical advisory panel for the National Water Infrastructure Development Fund.

Mr Mark Lewis is a former WA Minister for Agriculture and Food and was the Member for the Mining and Pastoral Region in the WA Legislative Council from 2013 to 2017. During that time, his responsibilities included the Rural Business Development Corporation, which administers loans to primary industries, including concessional loans on behalf of the Commonwealth. He also has experience in water infrastructure planning and development through his role as Minister for Agriculture and Food. He has been involved in and owned cereals, sheep/cattle and horticulture farms, and is currently a Corporate Advisor with AFS Agriculture Limited, advising a number of agriculture-related joint ventures and private equity companies.

Ms Prue Bondfield has significant agribusiness and farming expertise from her role as General Manager and Director of Palgrove Management Pty Ltd, a corporate livestock business with properties in Queensland and NSW. Prue also has strong agriculture industry networks from various roles on state entities and advisory committees. She was Chair of the Beef Industry Sustainability Framework Steering Committee, which was formed by the Red Meat Advisory Council. She was also a Director of the State Management Council for the NSW Livestock Health and Pest Authorities, and Director of the Beef Improvement Association.

Ms Sharon Starick runs a combined cereal and pork business in the Murraylands in South Australia. She brings not only practical on-farm knowledge, but 20 years’ experience with industry bodies, natural resource management groups, government boards and other private and public organisations. Sharon is the current Chair of the Board of Rural Business Support, which provides rural financial counselling services for South Australia and Northern Territory. She is also on the board of the Grains Research and Development Corporation, Royal Automobile Association of SA and Animal Health Australia.